Take Time to Give Back

We all have had someone that has influenced us at all points of our career. Whether it’s a mentor that has our best interest in mind, a “bad boss” that shows us how not to act, or a phenomenal leader that teaches us all we know, it’s important to remember to honor those influencers by giving back. What do I mean by that? A few examples of giving back include: being a mentor to others, volunteering to present at speaking engagements, or supporting job seekers that need assistance with resume reviews, interview prep, and/or dressing for success.

When I was new to Orlando and new to HR, I immediately started seeking support. I attended a Greater Orlando SHRM meeting and was welcomed with open arms. I was connected with Ivette Dupuis who was already a student at Rollins College, the school I would be starting two weeks later. Ivette became a mentor, colleague, and true friend that pushed me out of my comfort zone in order to achieve my goals. I always say that I want to be Ivette when I grow up.

ivette

Fast forward a few months… I was working for a beverage distributor in the Central Florida area. We were recruiting for an HR Generalist and a guy by the name of Danny Becker was hired. Little did I know then, but he would become one of my best friends. Not only were we friends, he was an amazing leader in our organization and I learned so much from him. Sometimes I still hear his voice in my head reminding me how to do something. It was because of him that I felt comfortable going into an organization where I would be working in an HR Department of One.
danny

These four years that I have been in Florida pursuing my HR dream have been amazing. I have been so lucky to come across so many influencers. In addition to Ivette and Danny, I want to also give a shout out to Jackie Brito, Rollins College and Callie Zipple, SHRM. I could probably list a bunch more people, but then the list wouldn’t seem as special as it truly is. I believe we should always continue learning and having those influencers in our lives, but there comes a point where you should take everything you’ve learned and pay it forward. I have found a few ways to do this.

Over the past few months, two of my social media connections gave me an opportunity to give back. I hope they don’t mind if I mention them by name, but both Steve Browne and Kristina Miynard had HR connections they knew that were new to the Orlando area. I connected with both of them to learn about how I could support their contacts. Additionally, I have returned to my alma mater to speak to their SHRM chapter about how to transition from student to professional. Not only does this support the Rollins students, but it also helps me overcome my fear of public speaking.

28424147_10156162137448523_8842390017926260718_o

If you are looking for a way to give back, but aren’t sure where to start, I would recommend starting with your local SHRM chapter. Check to see if they have a mentorship program you can be a part of or if they partner with organizations in the community that provide workforce readiness support. There may even be speaking opportunities with the local colleges. I know Rollins was always looking for local professionals to come speak to our students about their area of expertise.

Most importantly, remember your influencers that helped you get to where you are. I know we control our own lives and take the steps necessary to get to certain levels, but we’d be lying to ourselves if we didn’t recognize the people in our lives that gave us knowledge, confidence, and support we needed to get there.

Leave a comment